Desaturated/washed out colours in Unreal

Hi,

TL,DR:
How do you stop your colours in Unreal from being washed out? How do you make sure your whites are white?

I’m a VFX artist coming into the UE4 workflow having come from a game engine that has a much more straightforward WYSIWYG relationship between the colors we assigned in our color picker, and those that would appear on our particles in game.

In League’s engine, if I put a particle to be 100% opaque, and set it to a specific color, that would be the color I would see in game.
I’m struggling with Unreal because of the impact that the tonemapper has on the colors that I assign to the particles.

Please look at the attached image. I have created several different particle systems that spawn colored planes using different methods. All of these use unlit materials. On the left is a sprite where the color is created by a texture. It has sRGB disabled, so is in Linear space. As expected, it doesn’t quite look right, as it essentially has a gamma correction applied twice. On the right hand side, the same texture is used, but with sRGB enabled, looking correct.

In the centre, there is a mesh where the colours are derived from the vertex colors of the mesh. It uses the same values as the textures. It looks incorrect, appearing the same as the linear space texture. I assume that mesh vertex colors are in linear space.

Below the mesh, there are 3 rows of particles. The top (rainbow) and bottom (blue) row simply use the vertex colors to color the particles. The middle row uses a color curve driven by a dynamic parameter.

Similar to the mesh colors, these are messed up, I’m assuming because they’re in linear space too.