Daniel Kopp's Sketchbook

Hello everyone! :grinning:
Been on this forum for some time, but never posted anything, so let’s change that!
I have been doing VFX for something like 5 years, working on titles such as Battlefield and Battlefront, doing mostly realistic FX (hopefully I can upload som of thos in the future). When I’m playing around at home I like to make more stylized stuff and get a healthy mix of both.

First one up is a “challenge” I set for myself from my favorite game, World of Warcraft. Trying to make a damage projectile for an established healing spec within Wow by mixing Nature and Lunar/Arcane magic.

Hope you like it!

Old:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AZVH8NGE8Og

New:

Warrior Weapon Trail:

17 Likes

It’s so pretty :open_mouth:

What did you find was the most challenging part?

2 Likes

Looks cool, but a bit stiff. I guess that’s based on the effect you recreated. What would a modernday version of it look like? If it was made for a game of this style, what would be different?
https://realtimevfx.com/uploads/default/original/2X/3/3ef17014771b3060000e70e8e8cb7cd79213f6c9.gif

2 Likes

Agree that it looks a little stiff— I would suggest you try to carry that “swirling roots” theme into the motion of the missiles also and make them move in a less structured and exact way. A little twist in the motion would go a long way I think.

You also made a really sweet looking missile head, but because everything moves so fast, it’s hardly visible. Maybe you could exaggerate the timing of the missiles even more, so we get to see them near you a bit longer before the take off?