CoD Modern Warfare reboot moving cloth shader?

Hi, I’m pretty new to shaders just started some tuts a couple weeks ago. Today in the new CoD trailer I noticed a pretty cool effect in the clothes of the soldiers where it vibrates because of the strong winds before jumping off the plane or from the helicopter.

as seen at 0:50 and 1:20

I believe this cloth isn’t physics based, it looks like maybe a mesh or texture affected by some render target magic?

I know I don’t make a lot of sense but could somebody explain me what’s going on here and point me in the right direction to replicate this?

Those are both in game cinematics, so most likely it’s just sim’d in a 3d package and baked into the animations for those sequences. Model probably gets swapped to a gameplay model when you regain control of your character.

1 Like

I was wondering about that, they had an “Actual in-game footage” as opposed “Game Engine footage” which had me a little confused, if they are actually doing like a wind simulation shader on their in-game models, that’d be pretty cool.

I feel like it would actually pretty easy to do as a Vertex shader though, as long has you have like a fold mask or something to drive parts that move/ don’t move. You’d need enough mesh density though, which you will probably have on character models.

There’s no doubt it was in game, but that doesn’t mean everything is done dynamically, that just means the game is rendering everything vs loading and playing a video. The shots mentioned at :50 and 1:20 could have still had custom one-shot animations for those sequences.

What if the scarf is quite high poly instead of a normal map. Cause it looks like a vertex shader, offseting over surface normal. They could easily switch out the scarf mesh for a lower poly one once they go in game.