✨ Artbeat - Saiel's Sketchbook

Welcome to Artbeat.

I’m eager to learn and I’m also a really open minded person when it comes to receiving feedback, so feel free to do it whenever you want. In this sketchbook I’ll be posting my FX work evolution with almost daily updates.

My name is Sandra, but you can call me Saiel or Sai if you prefer. I’ve been developing indie games since 2009. In late 2018 I made a faith leap and changed my direction into 3D art for AAA games. A few days ago I discovered the wonderful world of VFX thanks to a masterclass from my former school and today I enrolled in VFX Apprentice’s Tradigitial 2D FX course. My goal is to become a technical VFX artist for games.

Hello, world! Here I present you my first beat done in Adobe Animate. It’s also my first ever frame by frame VFX animation.

Beat_001

Thanks for your time :sparkles:

15 Likes

Welcome back, artbeaters!

My former school granted me access to a Houdini course they are giving to new students this year. I’m not sure about it’s quality, but I’ll give it a try.

Today I learned how flipbooks are made inside Adobe Animate. I also created a bunch of templates for 2K sketches. I’ll upload them soon to a Drive folder where you’ll be able to grab them for free in case anyone finds them useful. You can also ask me for a specific template if you are interested, making them from scratch has helped me a lot increasing my speed from opening the program to actually start creating art. Here’s a 9 frames 3x3 2K example:

I entered flow state with this beat and completely lost track of time. What a wonderful feeling. It all started as a warmup practice in order to get used to how Adobe Animate handles my strokes and to familiarize myself with the shortcuts, but having Alex Redfish’s work playing in my other monitor motivated me to try something that I know it’s outside of my current capabilities. Definitely going to try hard on finishing this one.

Beat_001_01