Affinity vs Photoshop

Hello everyone my name is João Pedro, 24 y.o. portuguese guy.

First of all, DISCLAIMER, I am totally new to this world of VFX and I might be missing something and someone might come in and say that I am totally wrong in what I am saying.

As programmer, my experience with a raster graphics is limited to Gimp with a few simpler projects I did in college and since I want to be part of the world of VFX the question of which image editor should I use arises.

The obvious standard that I see everywhere in this forum, in tutorials and even in Jason Keyser’s course to come is in fact Photoshop. However, for now, for me this is just a hobby and since I’m not a student anymore the monthly subscription of Photoshop weights a lot in my pocket.

That is when I found the existence of a similar software called Affinity who is “The smaller brother” of Photoshop. I’ve checked this article, as well as this and this YouTube videos. I don’t know if they are biased and I couldn’t seem to find a lot of information about how viable it is in the VFX industry other that this reddit discussion.

I know that Affinity does not support the 3D capabilities as well as the video editing features that Photoshop posesses, but since we manipulate textures for materials and custom shaders I don’t see much use in these features. And from what I’ve seen the move and resize tool are better in Affinity, as well preview feature where you can see the effect of the brush ahead of time. The biggest bonus however is the one time payment compared to the monthly subscription of Photoshop.

Essentially my question is Affinity a viable solution as a replacement to Photoshop? Is it a good first step? Is Photoshop really the way to go?

What are your general thoughts on this topic?

Hey, welcome to RTVFX :smiley:

I think you’re way overthinking this. You don’t need any fancy tools. I’d even argue that Photoshop is more pain than it’s worth sometimes to make tiling handpainted textures.