Zelda Breath of the Wild - VFX Fan Art

Latest Gifs:

----Bellow here is all old stuff

Hello,

Its my first time posting here, so I hope Im writting it at the right section.

Im currently working on a series of FX from the game Zelda Breath of the Wild. I started doing the Guardians laser beam, making a 3D ball shotting another, and then I decided to make my own guardian model. Here is the high poly from zBrush:

Then I did a cel shading shader with customizeable emissions, some animations and synced that with my particles, and that was the result:

(I can’t post the gifs because i`m I new user)
Better quality: https://us.v-cdn.net/5021068/uploads/editor/zd/3upeu6gbb9xu.gif

There are other sequences, as the guardian shotting and explosding the ball, and the Guardian Arrow effect, that Im still working on. You can find other work in progresses on my Twitter`

For now, what you guy think of the particles? any critiques?

—UPDATE

Here is another effect for the guardian: https://twitter.com/godsgreg/status/1007108754255613954
https://video.twimg.com/tweet_video/Dfn3zz5XcAIg8XF.mp4

20 Likes

i feel like i’ve seen this. Did you post this on 10k?

GuardianShotDeflectV4Small
The gif

1 Like

Yep, but this is the most recent version :smiley:

Wow this looks fantastic! Really nice work! Love that erosion on the smoke. :heart: :heart:

Hey Greg! Great job with the FX! I remember seeing this post on art station couple months ago when it was a box exploding! You’ve come pretty far. Your timing and colors look amazing! I love how you’ve played with slow motion and realtime. Really gives the effect a great punch.

My only feedback regarding the flame trails that fly outwards is that they look pretty even all around. It would be nice to see some variation in height, distance and gravity!

I’m curious as to how you’re handling the erosion on the fire and smoke. Are they 2 different textures and emitters or just the one?