Urgent Feedback for a job's test task - Cryo Launcher Effect

cryo launcher

Hello, as stated in the title I need quite an urgent feedback. I’m a newbie applying for my first job in the industry and was given a test task to create a Cryo Launcher effect. It has to include a launch, a projectile and obviously a hit effect. As a reference I was told to use style similar to Ratchet & Clank: Rift Apart. This is what I came up with so far. My deadline is until October 6th, so this Friday. Would love to hear what you think, cheers!

Better quality video

The projectile
UnrealEditor_m44ni9y68u

1 Like

its really good, or its ok. i am in same position as you. That is block out. Now you need to find something to give life to that vfx. This is not comment to make you feel bad, just to understand that you need to add more. Maybe something more behind rocket, you have trail and that is great, you have ribbon with noise texture, maybe i am wrong, but something like that. maybe add some particles that fade out and have curl noise(i am not sure how unity works, i am UE user :)) maybe add white smoke and make it get smaller with time, not so long lifetime. This part on ground, i like that, but maybe you create some noise when disappear(You are using alpha to fade out, find more references and try to add something to make it more interesting)

I just want to give you my opinion, and to tell, this is good, but give more time and make something even better. Good luck :slight_smile:

2 Likes

This test sounds familiar :smile:

I think it’s looking really good so far, and the only suggestions I have are really minor things.

• Add a tiny delay to your ground decal spawning and either fade it in, or more ideally grow from the center out either by scaling the size or using a reverse alpha erosion so it grows out from the center. Just enough to see some motion in the decal after the main burst effect.