Sketchbook - Lux Faerie Court Q Ability

Hey there !
I’m new to Real Time VFX, and i wanted to give it a shot :wink:
I’m in a video game school and i want to be a vfx artist ! A lot of people told me that making a thread here was a good way to be in touch with all of the VFX community.
I project to make a copy of the Q ability of Lux Faerie Court in LoL as a start.
So i’ll be describing all the steps here. I have to add that i’m learning VFX graph as i go with this vfx, so i’ll maybe ask for advices if i’m too lost about it technically.
Please be nice with me !

I’ll update as i go…

:nerd_face: Analysis :nerd_face:
Firstly, i started a pure ref with my references, and i made a list with all the needed élément. I started with the faeric cylinder appearing on the foe, since i found it more easy.

I’ve also heard that Riot does not use HDR in their VFX, so i’ll do like them.

2 Likes

01/09 Update :

So I started with the two circles rotating at the top and the bottom of this faerical cyclinder.

Lil magic circle
But i have a problem now… As you see, the colors are really fade, and i presume it is because of the order in layer between my two systems that is not correct.
I searched for a solution, and i’ve found scripts to deal with the problem, or hand made packages, but i’ve also asked to a friend who know better than me vfx graph… Searching for the easiest solution about it…

Why did you choose VFX graph over particle system?

hi ! i just wanted to learn it. i made a certain amount of vfxs with shuriken, and it’s pretty limited sometimes, i kinda felt like i’ve reached the boundaries of it. A friend of mine told me that it was easier to make what you want on vfx graph once you learned how to use it. it’s more difficult to learn, but so much more versatile. Also, links between code, vfx graph, and shader are more easy too from what i’ve seen.

1 Like

Thanks for your view, looking at all the parameters, seems familiar.

04/09 Update :