Shadow Magic Portfolio Piece

Hello! My name is Maggie and I am a newer VFX artist in my senior year, looking for some help and critique on a portfolio piece I am working on. I am aiming to make a solid magic effect in Unity’s HDRP. Any help and critique is greatly appreciated, especially when it comes to working with shaders, as it is something I haven’t had a ton of experience with quite yet. Here is the concept image I made for the effect:

and here is a video with my current progress on the effect:
https://youtu.be/gbT1IvXnJ3A

Thank you in advance for taking the time to look at my effect, and for any help offered! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hey Maggie!
I think the concept is cool! It’s showing off some more aggression in the effect than your actual effect does though, which is really cool! I think your effect would benefit a lot from looking more like it.

Right now your elements are working a little against each other. Like you have this symbol that comes into play and covers the swirling particles (at 4 seconds in), but it doesn’t react to the swirl exploding and turning into a projectile (around 16-17 seconds in). The same goes for the big symbol that slowly grows in. It doesn’t react to, or support the projectile at all. Both of these elements should be supporting the build up of the projectile one way or another.

You could for example have the first symbol that covers the swirl shrink over a very short period of time just before the projectile shoots off and the swirl explodes into particles. This could be the que for the other symbol to quickly grow out and slowly fade out. But please do experiment on how they can support the projectile.

The particles that shoot out when the projectile is shaped (at 16-17 seconds in) and shoots off really need to have more speed in the beginning and then slow down. Use the “Limit Velocity over Lifetime” module in shuriken to make this happen. (They should be moving like 5x faster in the beginning but slow down quite fast)