Sebastian Cabanillas - VFX Sketchbook

HOWDY GAMERS

This is going to be the start of my sketchbook here on Real-Time VFX. I started learning at VFX Apprentice recently with no prior experience. I plan to share my work and progress of my VFX journey here. I’m open to all feedback and am looking forward to being part of this community!

1 Like

I completed my first lesson over at VFX Apprentice and made my first effect!
I ended up re-creating the fire from the lesson and also created a bonus effect by playing around with the modifiers that I learned from this lesson.

(It was my first time rendering with Unreal and Davinci resolve, I’ll try to get more consistent with the renders once I get better with the programs :slight_smile: )

Fire:

Bonus:

1 Like

:boom: :boom: :boom:

Finished up the block-in series on Niagara this week! Hadidjah did an amazing job teaching/building a foundation for creating VFX. Throughout this series I followed along to create the effects then tried to challenge myself by creating an extra effect based on what I learned. I’ll post the effects below along with a little breakdown of the process.

Item Aura/Pickup

For this one I created a square texture on photoshop then slapped it in the sprite renderer. Also played around with rotations and spawn timings.

Damage Impact

This lesson was very satisfying. For my extra effect, I played around with the curl noise force module for the little debris flying off. Other than that, I just tweaked the timings for the flare/pop at the beginning of the effect to add some anticipation.

Heal Impact

This blockin looks so cool. Started to emphasize more of the animation principles like ease in and out. For the extra effect, I wanted to add some sort of anticipation. Ended up using the Vortex and Point Attraction Force modules to make it happen. I also swapped to a square material and added another square ring that quickly shoots up and fades out for some extra bounce after all that build up.