Schools you trust

Hello,

This is my first post, but I have been lurking on the forums now for over a year (creepy, I know.) Can any of you recommend a school (like SCAD, Savannah College Arts and Design) that you trust? My Degree helped me become well rounded for a position in the Game Industry as a producer, but what I really wanted was to become an expert in a specific area. I have a passion for Combat Design in MOBAs (Heroes of the Storm, League of Legends, DOTA 2, etc.) I feel like part of my path to understanding good combat design is learning VFX particle systems, animation, and timing (how a character feels when played by a user).

Can you guys recommend a school you trust to learn Houdini or other real-time VFX software and pipeline?

Thanks for your time,

Jamie

Bitey Castle is a great course for 2D animation. Adam Philips covers it exceptionally well. It’s 2D focused and you need hand drawn your animation. Online and self driven.

Thanks Colbalt.

I will take a look.

Hi there ,

I go to SCAD, so some insight into the programs here, the ITGM(Game Development ) program here is very much focused on Game Design and Art(Environment,Props,character)t. There aren’t many technical classes in this program, apart from one effects and shaders class. Which is a good introduction but doesn’t get too deep into the realm of vfx.

On the other hand the VSFX(Visual Effects ) Program has many classes focused on the technical side of things but is geared more towards the film industry . So it is going to be on you to take what you’ve learnt and apply it in a realtime engine, the professors are very open with projects and they will let you work in your medium of choice.