Orik : Sketch #14 WIP

Hello guys,

I’ve been quite busy and I wanted to join this contest. Here is my WIP so far, feel free to comment ! Thanks
!

Last update :
https://gph.is/2O1FmxG
:slight_smile: Here is the first sketch, looking for a feel, a motion
Sketch_1

I decided to go on this one

And here is the early WIP animated inside Popcorn

32 Likes

Hello !

I decided to go deeper in the lightning part, It was to confused and did not fit to the original concept, here is my result
https://gph.is/2O1FmxG

13 Likes

thats pretty gorgeous. IS the electricity a mesh?

1 Like

No, all is Billboard and ribbons here

2 Likes

OH wowza! v cool my main man

1 Like

Hell yeah, the lightning feels a lot better now. I thought it was a stylistic choice at first, which I also liked a lot :stuck_out_tongue: . Epic work man!

1 Like

Inspiring work. Love it!
If this is a ribbon, does your shader have the scolling UV? Is the texture set to clamp?

I’m new at this, I’m trying to lean :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

You have some lovely colours here.

1 Like

Thanks! Glad you like it!
Yes, this is inside PopcornFX, there is some scrolling UVs, with the texture in repeat mode and a remap to dissipate :smiley:

1 Like

I feel like some of the electric sparks are too snappy. You might consider giving them a longer life where they blend to their complimentary color and dim for a bit longer. It could give you that retinal after image feel.

1 Like

@Orik this is amazing! could you explain the process of how the lightning is made? is it using a panning texture or is it manually animated using a flipbook?

1 Like

Looks like a UV distortion and scrolling ribbons to me.

Hello @Iby , the process of the lightning is pretty simple and similar to the rest of the fx, It’s actually alslo using a panning texture. No flipbook at all here

Here is the texture
T_Ribbon_Lightnings
I just set some IDs inside the texture in order to create variations like so :
T_Ribbon_Lightnings_IDS