Orieus: Sketch #32

Final Effect:

Ended up being too busy with work to finish everything I wanted to improve from my last post but I’m still really happy with what I got working and learned a lot for the next challenge :slight_smile:

thumbnail still :smile:

Original Post:
Hi! This is my first RTVFX post, and first real vfx project. I’ve been learning Unity shader code and modelling for a couple months and thought I’d attempt the challenge and only post if I could come up with something somewhat decent. I’ve been pretty excited about my progress so this is me officially committing to the challenge! ٩(●ᴗ●)۶

Concepts:
My first idea was to do something kinda different - I liked the idea of doing a dark sarcophagus thing where the lid slowly slides off to reveal a pool of writhing sludge, and hundreds of these inky little hands rise of of it and gently offer you items from within haha.
I still like the idea but I dont really know how I’d approach doing the hands, and I kinda want to learn from something with a little more energy.

I’m still learning modelling techniques and wanted to practice retopology, so I thought about doing something pirate themed just so I could practice modelling a skull xD
After doing a couple concepts it kinda evolved into something pretty evil looking, and I liked the idea of doing a “cursed lootbox”, so thats my current goal!

I then worked out an animation concept where a key unlocks it, it kinda charges up with evil energy before exploding in a cloud of souls and laughing skulls before just breaking apart and the items just kinda tumble out. It might be a little over the top but it sounds full of learning opportunities :smiley:

Forseeable challenges:
Coding: I kinda have the first “charging” stage vfx in a pretty good place, and I’m starting to realize how tricky timing things can get. I might have to come up with some fancy scripts / tools to make this easier.