Need help building a little bit of steam with a smoke/plasma effect

Hey guys,

Well I thought id hop around and make my first post after consulting a few VFX friends who all highly recommended this forum for all things VFX, so hopefully it works out good!

Ive been stuck for the best part of about a week now trying to learn how to make one specific effect in Houdini… To clarify, I am a complete beginner, as in, Ive never touched Houdini before, but I am familiar with a wide variety of other art tools/software so im not completely lost.

Either way, Im really struggling to build up steam in figuring out how to make this one specific thing that I need to make for a project im working on. Im not looking to become an expert in Houdini, I just need to build one graph that I understand, and can get something into Unreal Engine from.

Since im only allowed to post 2 links, ill put all my youtube links here and just refer to them as numbers. - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLSKb0NSElAyCPBuvm9kJLbC-20jgsz0CX

So. Im trying to create something that looks visually similar to #5 in my playlist, at approx ~ 1:35 - 1:43

From my POV, it looks like an extremely fast rotating tornado made from ‘plasma’ that coagulates and forms a column of glowing white up the centre.

So I set about making a tornado, and after a few days of playing around with various tutorial setups, I found one that actually seemed to scale well and generally seems to just make sense, I can change the force/length and it seems to create a column of spinning smoke. I created it from a tutorial on benwattsdesign titled “Quick Tip 04 - Custom Forces in Houdini”