My first VFX portfolio! 👾

::thumbnail::

Hi everyone! My name is Jacob, and a little over a year ago, I decided to pivot back into the games industry to become a VFX artist (I used to be a freelance composer ^^)! :space_invader: :sparkles:

I started with self-study for a few months before doing some online courses, and then got really lucky and met my mentor @Ati who’s been helping to teach me 1:1 for the past several months :smiley: I’ve been learning everything from texture creation, to animation timing, to making materials/shaders. I really love the blend of artistic and technical skill in this field – it satisfies my desire to be an artist and also be a kind of jack-of-all-trades and branch out into many different but related skills. I’ve mostly been focused on learning Unreal, but am now starting to learn Unity just so I can stay flexible for opportunities in the future.

I recently compiled a few projects I worked on over the past year into a short version 1 portfolio (everything but the fire at the end is Unreal, the fire was done in Unity) :sparkles:

I am proud of this milestone of creating my v1 portfolio, and at the same time there’s sooooo much about this reel that I’m not happy with and want to change. I think there’s a lot more I can do for the secondary and tertiary elements to make the layers a little more interesting, my shaders could use quite a bit more polish and nuance, and I think having more character/animation timing-focused effects would be fun to work on. I recognize this will be an endless process of learning and growing though, so I’m excited to improve and level up my skills further from here! And I am very excited to be getting back to making games :grin: