🎆 Mattia Selicato Sketchbook - Getting back!

Fanart piece I recently made

Hi, I’m happy to write here for the first time! I really needed a place where I can post my daily progress on VFX studies and I think I found it.

I’m a VFX Apprentice student and I’m loving my journey there.

I love discussing everything I make so please feel free to drop any feedback or critic for my EOD progresses, and in general!

Today Sandra Femenía helped me understand functions in UE and since I’ve been a bit scared of them, I thank her a lot.
My first function is about controlling the overall time while panning a texture.

Before, I would do this all the time …boredom

Image from Gyazo

But with this function I packed all together :

And now all I have to do is just recall it like this!

Image from Gyazo
And I can do it because I checked this box here, very important:

A very important thing is this FunctionInput node:

In here you can control what shows in the final function node on the left side, basically you choose the name, what values you need to plug in and also you can choose the order in which it appears in the stack!!

Super cool :smile:

Now I can finally control time simply by recalling the function and plugging in a constant 2!
I feel like DIO

That’s all for today friends c:

14 Likes

Hello, Matti!

Glad to see your work in here, you’ve progressed so much in a short period of time. I always forget to tick the “Expose to library” inside the material function, that’s a nice tip to remember. It feels nice to see that you’ve managed to do what you needed with my help. You know where to hit me up if you need anything else.

Looking forward for new updates. Keep it up! :woman_mage:

1 Like

Thank you Saiel :smile: I hope to show you a lot of improvement over time!

Today It has been a slow monday, I had to catch up on a lot of things with my VFX friends Tony Manzi and Narsus since we didn’t hear for a while.