Making Phantom damage system, need some help

Hi guys, I am relatively new to VFX and Unity in general (about 1 year), but I have a weird obsession to make more advanced VFX stuff. In my game, there is a humanoid phantom character and I decided to make really good looking damage system for him.

When some spells or bullets hit him, then left behind holes on character’s body. And here is the video (wood texture for better understanding):

So, I have a bunch of problems:

• I don’t really know how to send an array of world position in the shader using shader forge. It’s easy to send one vector4 of damage sphere, but it would be multiple hits and holes on character’s body.

• Is is possible to somehow emit particles from intersections?

• Is there a better way to render backface of damage sphere? Currently, I’m rendering character’s backface texture with the second camera. Then using this texture as a mask for backface sphere shader. This also leads to some bugs when a model has intersected geometry, like belts and other small details.

• The character is moving, but spheres locked in place and attached to bones. This can lead to some inaccuracies. I thought about translating hits to copy of a character that stands still. Then somehow translating entire material back to the character

1 Like

Try reading Valve publication on Left4Dead 2 wounds system. They solved most of your problems
http://www.valvesoftware.com/publications/2010/gdc2010_vlachos_l4d2wounds.pdf

1 Like

Thanks, sadly this is not what I was looking for. I need to fill holes by code using backface of a sphere, not making some prefab wounds. And wounds on phantom suppose to shrink down over time, so the fill area should decrease too.

But maybe I can make wound model and fill her with many small cube particles in Blender, making some kind of fake volume. Then use this model for filling holes. There will be a lot of tris thou, but in this case, maybe I can even emit particles from intersections.