Healing spell Concept art

This is my first time posting and doing concept for VFX stuff and i would love some feedback on how i could improve for next time! (i don’t know how to use this website :sweat_smile: )

this is a healing spell i had in mind, i apologise if its hard to understand.

First frame:
God rays come down slightly above the player

Second frame:
Then a pentagram scales while spinning getting slower as it scales, from players position also the god ray fades at this point. grass and flowers slowly blooms out as the pentagram reach’s it scale point. also a green aura fades in and up from the player.

third frame:
this is where the aura jumps down back into the player and jumps back out as healing crossing and kind of just floats out a bit. and the pentagram also scales out again and then fading away, kind of goes for the flowers and grass they react to this like strong wind.

fourth frame:
I forgot to draw it but butterfly’s come out from the scaled pentagram and fly’s away, and the cross also fades.

8 Likes

Hello Ryukai!
welcome to the community :slight_smile:
as you explicitly asked for feedback, here it comes.
First off:
The pentagram has very specific meaning in different cultures (mostly negative, which doesn’t fit to the positive healing effect). I suggest to refrain from using it, unless it is absolutely fitting the context. Just go with a ornamental summoning circle that fits better.

Second step:

There is a lot going on here.

• do flowers grow immediately?
  • do the flowers move with the edge of the summoning circle as it expands? (third step does imply so)
  • the flame, for me, is something that makes it look like a buff is being applied, not an heal. As a flame is something that is perceived as destructive in most context (of course not always).

I suggest, creating another step, to make the order of execution clearer.

Third step: