Ground Spike Attack, Aaron Harley-Bishop

Hello everyone. This is my first post on here and I am seeking Critique on my Spike Attack. As of now I need guidance as to making the timing for the spikes and the emissive ground cracks flow in and out better, for the effect. Also any other tips on how I can push it further and really make it good. I’m making this in UE4 and I’m still fairly new to using the Cascade system, so any advice as to use the system would be helpful as. I will provide any information that is needed for a critique. Thank you!

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/VdyV3g

Hey I’m relatively new myself but maybe I can give you some feedback regardless.
First of all I love your spike meshes and ground textures. It really looks like cracking ground!
I think pushing the timing a lot, like you already mentioned, is a good starting point. I would do everything much faster, can you see how the effect in the example is completed in 1-2 sec and yours is taking 5?
I think having the effects follow each other quickly would make the effect look more fluid. For example start with your ground effect and add the larger cracks together with the small spikes and let the big one follow shortly after.
Right now it is also not clear what the effect is meant to communicate to the player. For example when you using it in a Game the player doesn’t know if this effect is an ongoing aoe effect or a single damage spike.
To give you some further ideas: you could let the ground flash up right before the big spike is spawning or you could add some particles that fly in the air when the spikes are breaking through, like debris is kicked up.
I think you are on a good way tho, just a few tweaks and it will look super cool. Keep up the good work!

1 Like

@Hank95 Thanks for the critique. I making this as an AOE attack.

This is a good point, it does take too long to complete.

And I’ll try to apply this as well. Thanks again for the critique.

1 Like