ColossalAdvent - Sketch #34 [Splash]

[FINAL EFFECT]

Hey Folks,

I had a strange desire to make a goofy Fortnite style effect and figured I might as well use it as my sketch haha. Still setting and polishing things up’

I wanted to try something comical like having a character hurling a giant shield potion at her ally. I looked at JangaFX’s blood tutorial for setup [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J3pVQrElBcE&t=8s]
I got a triangulated fortnite character model from Sketchfab, and auto rigged it with Mixamo (with some edits in 3dsmax). Everything is controlled through anim blending and triggering it in the Sequencer.

It would awesome to figure out how to get the fake liquid effect as seen here [https://twitter.com/minionsart/status/1100806423360036865?s=20]. I’m not technical so I’ll have to find some hacky method to achieve the look. Not sure if the jiggle bone method would work, since the jar flips a full 360.

I’m going more for a gooey look- I believe the original is more of a soda-like liquid. I just think the more viscous look is pretty cool. Here’s a ref of the original, you can see it at (0:10) [https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cypBVIsv2G0]

Any and all critique/commentary is welcome!

10 Likes

ha ha that’s hilarious, I love it!

I found that exact same splash tutorial to use, too :grinning: It works really well, now I need to figure out what to do with it for this.

The fake liquid effect is an interesting shader challenge, I’ll be curious to see how you tackle that one.

Hmm, so I found this interesting post on fake liquid and tried setting it up.
[Liquid material in a bottle]

I attempted setting up the blueprint but I couldn’t tell if anything was working. It produced this wavy mesh with normals on it. It looked like it was working, however- as soon as I started rotating it, the liquid mesh distorted in a funny way that was inconsistent (Local position).

(Rotated)