Amplify vertex offset with odd black outline issue

Hey there!

I’m pretty new to shader creation and I’m having an issue with a vertex offset shader. Right now I’m getting this strange black outline at certain points when my sphere is deforming.

20210630_122006_%pn_ef32d511

Any idea on how I can correct this?

4 Likes

Oh and here’s the block of nodes for the vertex offset part of the shader:

Do you use clamp on alpha? I think that could be the issue. Simply add a 0-1 clamp at the end

I’ve seen some similar issues but on fresnel and refraction. see if removing fresnel or refraction from your material fixes it if you’re using any of those.

Could it be the smoothed vertex normals of the sphere that don’t get updated from the vertex offset? Offsetting vertices that are on the backside of the sphere to the point where they are visible would leave them black if the normals are not updated with the vertex positions.

1 Like

Correct, they are not. The vertex normals are the normals that the mesh had prior to deformation. Deforming the normals with the vertex position is a non-trivial thing to do in a vertex shader as you don’t necessarily know where the other vertices are to know what the new normal should be. Some water shaders handle this by assuming the original mesh is a flat regular grid, but you can’t do that with arbitrary geometry. For a sphere like above you could calculate offset positions along the tangent and bitangent to get a decent approximation.

So yes, the bug is sometimes you can see the “back side” of the sphere such that the vertex normals being used are facing away from you. To fix this you usually need to clamp the dot product of the view direction and surface normal to avoid negative values.

1 Like

I tried this where I think you meant to try it and it didn’t change much (if anything)

I don’t use refraction, but I do use fresnel. I removed it and unfortunately it didn’t seem to help.

1 Like