2D teleportation - Unity

Hey everyone!
First time posting here. I would like to share a little teleportation effect I made for fun, and ask for feedback.

The effect was created in Unity, using a standard Particles/Alpha Blended material, sprites only and no lights. The highest amount of particles it reaches on screen is 80.
The idea is for a character to cast a spell allowing them to float above the ground where the sphere would build around them and then teleport them to their desired location. The hexagon sphere consists of two halves allowing the back half to appear behind the character.

FX_Teleport

Structure

I’m an experienced 3D Artist, but have no experience in VFX. Currently filling in at work until we hire an actual VFX artist and it’s been great to have the chance to create VFX for one of our current game projects. For about 6 weeks I’ve learnt a lot and loving it so far. I would definitely love to do it full time one day.

Cheers!

1 Like

Hi,

I’d say there is not not enough build up at the start to creeate anticipation and it disappears waaay to abruptly. Adding some sparks (and that’s just an example) when it disappears and may be some rotation to the sphere would help. Although you said you only used some texture ? You should try using a sphere mesh to give it some depth.

Also some lighting and a ground to reflect the emissive and some post processing.

Oh and some color grading as well.

Other than that, it’s a good start :+1:

And holy molly there is a lot of sub particle systems on this one :upside_down_face:

Hi and thanks for your feedback!