2D Raymarching Smoke

2d raymarching smoke. Based on uncharted4’s siggraph 2015 presentation =)
similar to vimeo.com/171238992
You can adjust march steps, add fire like explosion and adjust fire&smoke color
This is for udk. UE4 version is going. But there are little difference between udk transmission and ue4 subsurface(especially in translucency, masked looks right but… alpha is masked)
I prefer udk’s look. So I’m studying UE4 to make same look as udk.

12 Likes

@mattorialist Your work is spreading :wink: I’m so happy to see this solution being used more and more!

1 Like

I like his work & presentations =)

Good job man! Looking hot!

1 Like

Thanks for your comment & siggraph ppts!

Hi Matt, I’m a french follower of your work : ) Is there a way to see your presentations, or to learn how you made this ?

Thx

Here you go

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B0nL9LedRBbDakFPd0sxd0doNlU/view

3 Likes

hope it helps!

im really happy people are using this!

3 Likes

thx for sharing, !!! I’m gonna reading this thoroughly

@mattorialist Was this some custom code implemented in the shading somehow? I understand the basic concept of ray marching, but wonder how it can be actually implemented

He has the code in his presentation. Someone posted an unreal test scene in the facebook group that had this exact implementation:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2e7e-78RB_-SzdWQlJuNFJ4Rms/view

You can download that and play around with it to see how it’s implemented.

1 Like

Hello guys, Mederic here, TD VFX on Skull & Bones.

@mattorialist, @RyanB @Vich

I’ve been continuing to push on your work with this as a solution for my VFX pipeline. Bear with me this will be a bit of a long post. Here’s some of my findings.

Original code I started with from @RyanB

if(startZ<=threshold) return 0;
float TimeLerp = 1;
float DepthDiff = 0;
float LastDiff = -bias;

//scale Z by 2 since the heightmap represents two halves of as symmetrical volume texture, split along Z where texture = 0