UE4 - Ice Projectile Magic

Hi guys!

I’m new to vfx and I am trying to learn as much as I can while creating effects for a portfolio. I would appreciate the harsh truth feedback where you don’t hold back anything if possible. Thank you! :blush:
I’ve been trying to follow the principles of anticipation, climax and dissipation, and following a color palette theme for ice.
ColorPalette

1 Like

Good start!

Here’s a tip for color: You don’t really need a palette, per se – you more need an understanding of how colors are related. I find the HSV color space much easier to work with than RGB. Also, you want to use floating-point values, not hex codes.

With HSV values, finding a related set of colors is easy. Pick a base color, and then derive subsequent colors by varying S or V. You can even do this programmatically inside a shader/material.

If I had made your ice effect, for example, I would have picked a blue-ish color, then adjusted V to get different intensities. The most intense piece of the trail is the highest value of V (note you can use values above 1.0 in most CG systems). The least intense is a much lower value of V. That gives you a gradient.

Adjusting the saturation (S) is useful for tinting. Take a base color, and multiply it by a desaturated version of another color. Or brighten a color by adding the desaturated version of another color.

Give that technique a try!

Have fun!

2 Likes

Thanks alot! I followed your advice and picked just a single base color based on its hue, keeping saturation and value at 1. Then I adjusted the S and V for each of the systems and emitters.

Here is the result:

What do you think?

1 Like

Looks good! I think it’s a little saturated for an ice effect, but it depends on the context. But it looks like you applied the technique correctly.