Stylized Entry [PROJECT]

Hi!

I’m still pretty new at VFX. You can see what I’ve done so far on DeviantArt! (don’t look at the 2D stuff @_@)
I want to try and do as many entries as possible by January. :B
My first idea is to do something PROJECT-y.

References

The idea: a projectile will fire from the first sphere. The projectile hits the second sphere. The sphere gains an indicator. There is a short delay while the indicator fills up, and then an explosion.

I thought it’d be best to do a rough pass, making sure I can do all the things I want to do, before actually coming up with the proper art. This is what I’ve managed to do in the past hour or so. Getting the bar to fill up was more complicated than I expected. :stuck_out_tongue:

roughIndicator

What I really want is for the indicator to fill up from two directions, like so: 1293804

I have yet to figure that out though. :stuck_out_tongue:

Polycount thread

2 Likes

Managed to grab some extra time today and figured it out:
ezgif-5-4f955717df

Additional Iterations

roughIndicator3roughIndicator4roughIndicator5

4 Likes

Hey, really nice start from my point of view.

I have a little question : have you considered to fill the shapes on the second pass ? I believe they will be a lisibility problem when the shapes are charging in term of Gameplay.
The attacker, as the marked, has to know very quick if the mark is completed or not. I guess it’s better thought on the second additionnal iteration because the shape is different when the mark is filled.

Take a look on how Riot deal with this on League, and think about the gameplay behind : is it something about to deal damage when the mark is filled ? Is it supposed to snare / root / stun the target at when the effect is filled ? The indicators are differents depending of what will append to the target !