Learning Unreal from nothing?

Hello! I’ve just recently committed myself to buckling down and learning VFX for games. I’ve (semi-arbitrarily) decided to focus on Unreal, however, I have exactly zero experience with game engines.

A little more about my skillset/background: I recently graduated with a degree in animation, so I have a working knowledge of modeling/texturing/animating/particle systems in Maya, as well as some understanding of After Effects. For part of my grad portfolio, I put together a demo reel of 2D FX animations, which were all hand-drawn in Photoshop. You can see that here if you’re interested, even though some of it’s a little old and painful to look at. ¯_(ツ)_/¯

I’ve also been lurking here a few days and reading threads aimed at complete beginners, putting together lists of resources and tutorials for later, etc…

So my problem is this: I’ve already poked around a bit in Unreal, and taken a look at some tutorials/documentation for Cascade, but I still find myself a little lost when it comes to the overall workings of the engine. What are the features I should really be focusing on so I have some basic literacy with Unreal before I dig into Cascade? What can I safely ignore (or defer to a later date)? Right now I’m looking at the massive tutorial list and feeling a little… overwhelmed.

Any nudges in the right direction would be helpful! And, uh, sorry if I’m posting this in the wrong place.

Thanks!

1 Like

I understand. Really I do. Well, good news is you already seemingly have the background knowledge down when it comes down to making the assets. Alright, let’s start simple…

First of all - just get in there and just play. Break the darn thing if you can DARN IT! Poke the buttons, twist the knobs. Drag, drop, see what happens. Let click and right click everything! Look at the example content I’ve linked in the last paragraph. DIVE IN!

It isn’t going to bite you… that comes later.