Klaus' VFX Sketchbook

Electricity Study - Thunder Dance - by Foxician - RTVFX Thumbnail
(last updated March 28, 2024)

Thread of my VFX works. Comments, suggestions, questions, critiques are all very welcome! :sparkling_heart:

VFX_Works_Banner

Hello fellow VFX artists, I’m Klaus!

(updated intro in Jan, 2022)

I’m a VFX Artist, Game Designer and Co-Founder of a small indie game company from Vienna, Austria, called Follow the Feathers (we switched to individual contract work for the near future though). I love visual effects, innovative game mechanics and unicorns. :sparkles: :unicorn:

If you want to see a condensed blast of my VFX works and projects I’ve worked on, feel free to check out my portfolio website: klausfehkuehrer.com. I have seven years of game development experience and successfully released two games: NIVA (2016) and Weaving Tides (2021).

The first “big” project (in the scope of a student) I was working on was the master’s degree project of my team and me - the exploration art game NIVA. Besides game design I took care of almost all visual effects within the game:

VFX of NIVA :fallen_leaf: :fallen_leaf: :fallen_leaf:

A little bit of context: NIVA is a pacifistic exploration game set in a mystical forest. The player slips into the role of a deer-like forest god and uses the power of nurturing and withering plants to solve environmental puzzles. It’s available for free on itch.io - why not give it a whirl to unwind from a hard day’s work? :wink:

Forest God (player character) - positive and negative aura (abilities to interact with certain plants in the forest)

energy pulse of a magical tree (game spoiler: jumping through this tree is the final step of completing a puzzle in the game)

another magical tree (game spoiler: it’s light fruits can drop, what makes them burst. if the player steps into the puddle, he will leave a trail of glowing footsteps)

atmosphere effects in the forest

9 Likes